The Parliament of The Republic of Uganda

The Parliament of Uganda is the legislative arm of the government and derives its mandate and functions from the 1995 Constitution, the Laws of Uganda and its own Rules of Procedure.

The Constitution contains articles which provide for the establishment, composition and functions of the Parliament of Uganda and empowers Parliament "to make laws on any matter for the peace, order, development and good governance of Uganda", and "to protect the Constitution and promote democratic governance in Uganda".

The term of Parliament is five years from the date of its first sitting after a general election. The current Parliament (9th Parliament) started in May 2011 and ends in May 2016.

The functions of the Parliament of Uganda are:

1. To pass laws for the good governance of Uganda.
2. To provide, by giving legislative sanctions taxation and acquisition of loans, the means of carrying out the work of Government.
3. To scrutinise Government policy and administration through the following:

  • pre-legislative scrutiny of bills referred to the Parliamentary committees by Parliament
  • scrutinising of the various objects of expenditure and the sums to be spent on each
  • assuring transparency and accountability in the application of public funds
  • monitoring the implementation of Government programmes and projects

4. To debate matters of topical interest usually highlighted in the President's State of the Nation address.
5. To vet the appointment of persons nominated by the President under the Constitution or any other enactment.

For more detailed information please visit the Uganda Parliament website